Q&A Forum
I agree with Boz race engines.
My previous brand x software, if it lost connection with the pda, it would activate a load and pull drum to a stop
i think this setting should be different from chassis dyno to engine dyno and be able to be set, i would rather the brake stays at the same load for 5sec as what it was when communication was lost, that way it just wont climb any more, then you can just pull out of the run without hurting anything. and maybe a big "ABORT RUN" should splash on screen. i dont want to download the latest version to be honest, a lot can go wrong with brakes just letting go especially on a engine dyno, you wont catch some race engines in time. we dont always run rev limiters
yes i think a slow release over say 10 seconds would be better, as i have a engine dyno a release on the brake would mean instant extra rpm as there is no inertia to slow any rpm increase
@admin so with the watchdog, does that mean the brake will let go if communication is lost? i dont like the idea of the brake letting go near the end of a run and engine peaking way past its redline if communication is lost, is this the case? 10 seconds would be ok as any run would be over by then.
@admin so with the watchdog, does that mean the brake will let go if communication is lost? i dont like the idea of the brake letting go near the end of a run and engine peaking way past its redline if communication is lost, is this the case? 10 seconds would be ok as any run would be over by then.
Thanks, I will do but I think I have found the issue, for me at least.
After typing in the comments it is required to hit 'Enter' or 'Return' whichever you want to call it, before the run is saved.
That works for me on File+save, I still need to test it on Save+Restart and Save+Close when I'm back at work with the Yourdyno box but I'm pretty hopeful now.
This issue is now resolved for me using the explanation above 🙂
Greetings tuners,
YourDyno version 3.2.149 is released (beta). Download here.
Changes:
- Improvements to the MOI wizard. The calculations are now much faster and the status does not go Red while calculating (which was the case on some slow computers). Some buttons are disabled for Inertia dynos, which cannot use the MOI wizard.
- Better handling of dyno losses. Earlier, incorrectly entered dyno losses could result in incorrect engine power/torque. For example the software assumed the losses increase as a function of speed, which is the case in real life. Now engine power/torque are not impacted by dyno losses in any case. Dyno losses still needs to be correct for wheel power/torque to be correct, of course.
- Introduced a watchdog in the firmware such that if communication is lost with the computer, the watchdog ensures the brake is off after some seconds
- Support for Russian language
- Some other minor cleanups
This version needs firmware update. Just go to Options->Firmware update and click "Update to latest firmware (online)".
Enjoy!
Thanks, I will do but I think I have found the issue, for me at least.
After typing in the comments it is required to hit 'Enter' or 'Return' whichever you want to call it, before the run is saved.
That works for me on File+save, I still need to test it on Save+Restart and Save+Close when I'm back at work with the Yourdyno box but I'm pretty hopeful now.
Latest version is 3.2.148. Upgrade to that version 🙂
I'm using 3.2.146.0
Maybe there is a problem with my installation!?
Is it worth me doing a reinstall?
I don't want to loose any data or settings that I already have, what is the safest way for me to remove the software and reinstall it but still keep all my data?
Thanks
Mark
@oxracing, I am really not able to reproduce what you say. Can you check if you are using the latest software?
I'm sorry, it just doesn't work for me.
If I add comments to a run then hit 'Save+Restart' the comments are lost when the software is restarted or if the runs are cleared and then reopened.
Also if I save from the file menu and use the same file name the comments are not saved
- If I save the file with a new name then it saves the comments
I dont know here is the problem, it is VERY easy to use, just add comments, save everything, it's done.
sorta
I'm used to adding comments and that's all i have to do on my old system
no save , no add comments before save, no file and save.
its just not user friendly
I'll just have to get used to not save and close before i add comments
Guys, let me clarify a bit more.
There are two ways to save a run.
- You can turn on the Auto save option. In this mode each run is saved as an individual run when you press "Save and Close" or "Save and Restart". If you have renamed the run or added comments before you click Save, this is saved in the file and remains if you open the file again later. The file is called whatever the run is called.
- You can save a collection of runs. This is typically done when you are finished with your session, you want to keep a few runs but not all runs in between. This is done with File->Save. This will then also include any name changes and comment changes you have done to runs after you saved them as individual runs.
Makes sense?
